A beautiful little heartbeat!!!! 

Today marks the start of my 8th week of pregnancy and the day of our early scan. I was a complete wreck last night and this morning. In fact, last night I was all set to cancel the appointment! I am so glad I didn’t. Far from the hideous experience of last time, this time I saw a perfect little squiggle and a flashing little heartbeat. It is the most beautiful thing I have ever seen and the relief came over me so abruptly that I cried all over the very lovely people at the clinic as well as Paul! We came home with our scan pictures and a sense of huge relief. We’re finally talking about “when” we have the baby and not if, and it’s really really lovely. I suspect this relief will be somewhat short lived, and I’m sure that I’ll continue to worry up until the 12 weeks scan and beyond, but for now I’m just grateful to have seen that everything is ok. 

  

Leave a Reply

